Nine Science students honored with the 2015 Plater Medallion

Release Date: 
May 5 2015

PlaterINDIANAPOLIS -- In recognition of their commitment to community service, nine School of Science students were among 50 recipients of the 2015 William M. Plater Civic Engagement Medallion.

Eight undergraduate students received the award: Corinne Blackburn, Hardeep Dhillon, Alyssa Flynn, Sarah Fortney, Ana Frausto, Arnesha Price, Alicia Quash and Roziya Tursunova. Graduate student Adam Davis also received the medallion.

The William M. Plater Civic Engagement Medallion honors graduating IUPUI students who have shown an exemplary commitment to the community and who have developed and ethic of civic mindedness.

Recipients not only showcase engagement in a variety of activities to demonstrate depth and diversity in their commitments, they also display making a significant investment to at least one community experience over time.

The medallion is named in honor of IUPUI's former Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean of the Faculties from 1988 to 2006, Dr. William Plater, a strong advocate of civic engagement during his career.